Preferences help
enabled [disable] Abstract
Number of results
2018 | 133 | 3 | 417-419
Article title

Collinear and Non-Collinear Configurations in Classical Geometrically Frustrated Ring-Shaped Systems

Title variants
Languages of publication
Geometrically frustrated quantum spin systems, with competing antiferromagnetic couplings, show the Kahn degenerate frustration for some specific values of Heisenberg Hamiltonian parameters. It has been recently shown for rings with a defect bond and centered rings. In the case of classical counterparts of these systems, degenerated configurations with the lowest energy are present for the energy function parameter greater than a certain threshold. In these domains such configurations are planar but non-collinear with continuous changes of the net magnetic moment with respect to the Hamiltonian parameter. Outside these domains there is unique collinear ground state configuration (neglecting choice of the net magnetic moment direction). However, these collinear configurations are the same in both non-frustrated and geometrically frustrated domains. Numerically exact calculations for quantum systems strongly confirm that determined properties of their classical counterparts realize the classical limit s→∞.
  • Faculty of Physics, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland
  • Faculty of Physics, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland
  • Faculty of Physics, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland
  • Institute of Mathematics, Poznań University of Technology, Poland
  • [1] G. Toulouse, in: Spin Glass Theory, Beyond, Eds. M. Mézard, G. Parisi, M.A. Virasoro, World Sci., Singapore 2004, p. 99 [reprinted from Comm. Physique 2, 115 (1997)], doi: 10.1142/9789812799371_0009
  • [2] J. Vannimenus, G. Toulouse, J. Phys. C: Solid State Phys. 10, L537 (1977), doi: 10.1088/0022-3719/10/18/008
  • [3] S. Kirkpatrick, Phys. Rev. B 16, 4630 (1977), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.16.4630
  • [4] H.T. Diep, H. Giacomini, in: Frustrated Spin Systems, Ed. H.T. Diep, World Sci., Singapore 2013, p. 1, doi: 10.1142/9789814440745_0001
  • [5] L.S. Campana, A. Caramico D'Auria, M. D'Ambrosio, U. Esposito, L. De Cesare, G. Kamieniarz, Phys. Rev. B 30, 2769 (1984), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.30.2769
  • [6] P. Lacorre, J. Phys. C: Solid State Phys. 20, L775 (1987), doi: 10.1088/0022-3719/20/29/004
  • [7] O. Kahn, Chem. Phys. Lett. 265, 109 (1997), doi: 10.1016/S0009-2614(96)01424-8
  • [8] J. Schnack, Dalton Trans. 39, 4677 (2010), doi: 10.1039/B925358K
  • [9] Y. Furukawa, K. Kiuchi, K. Kumagai, Y. Ajiro, Y. Narumi, M. Iwaki, K. Kindo, A. Bianchi, S. Carretta, P. Santini, F. Borsa, G.A. Timco, R.E.P. Winpenny, Phys. Rev. B 79, 134416 (2009), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.79.134416
  • [10] M.L. Baker, G.A. Timco, S. Piligkos, J.S. Mathiesone, H. Mutka, F. Tuna, P. Kozłowski, M. Antkowiak, T. Guidi, T. Gupta, H. Rath, R.J. Woolfson, G. Kamieniarz, R.G. Pritchard, H. Weihe, L. Cronin, G. Rajaraman, D. Collison, E.J.L. McInnes, R.E.P. Winpenny, Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. 109, 19113 (2012), doi: 10.1073/pnas.1213127109
  • [11] P. Kozłowski, M. Antkowiak, G. Kamieniarz, J. Nanopart. Res. 13, 6093 (2011), doi: 10.1007/s11051-011-0337-8
  • [12] M. Antkowiak, P. Kozłowski, G. Kamieniarz, G.A. Timco, F. Tuna, R.E.P. Winpenny, Phys. Rev. B 87,184430 (2013), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.87.184430
  • [13] P. Kozłowski, Phys. Rev. B 91, 174432 (2015), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.91.174432
  • [14] G. Kamieniarz, W. Florek, M. Antkowiak, Phys. Rev. B 92, 140411(R) (2015), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.92.140411
  • [15] E. Garlatti, S. Bordignon, S. Carretta, G. Allodi, G. Amoretti, R. De Renzi, A. Lascialfari, Y. Furukawa, G.A. Timco, R. Woolfson, R.E.P. Winpenny, P. Santini, Phys. Rev. B 93, 024424 (2016), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.93.024424
  • [16] W. Florek, M. Antkowiak, G. Kamieniarz, Phys. Rev. B 94, 224421 (2016), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.94.224421
  • [17] W. Florek, M. Antkowiak, G. Kamieniarz, K. Jaśniewicz-Pacer, Acta Phys. Pol. A 133, 411 (2018), doi: 10.12693/APhysPolA.133.411
  • [18] H.-J. Schmidt, arXiv: 1701.02489 (2017)
  • [19] A.M. Ako, O. Waldmann, V. Mereacre, F. Klöwer, I.J. Hewitt, Ch.E. Anson, H.U. Güdel, A.K. Powell, Inorg. Chem. 46, 756 (2007), doi: 10.1021/ic061650s
  • [20] J.W. Sharples, D. Collison, E.J.L. McInnes, J. Schnack, E. Palacios, M. Evangelisti, Nature Commun. 5, 5321 (2014), doi: 10.1038/ncomms6321
Document Type
Publication order reference
YADDA identifier
JavaScript is turned off in your web browser. Turn it on to take full advantage of this site, then refresh the page.