Preferences help
enabled [disable] Abstract
Number of results
2018 | 133 | 3 | 343-349
Article title

Multiband Electronic Structure of Magnetic Quantum Dots: Numerical Studies

Title variants
Languages of publication
Semiconductor quantum dots (QDs) doped with magnetic impurities have been a focus of continuous research for a couple of decades. A significant effort has been devoted to studies of magnetic polarons (MP) in these nanostructures. These collective states arise through exchange interaction between a carrier confined in a QD and localized spins of the magnetic impurities (typically: Mn). Our theoretical description of various MP properties in self-assembled QDs is discussed. We present a self-consistent, temperature-dependent approach to MPs formed by a valence band hole. The Luttinger-Kohn k· p Hamiltonian is used to account for the important effects of spin-orbit interaction.
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, USA
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, USA
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, USA
  • St. Bonaventure University, New York, USA
  • [1] J.K. Furdyna, J. Appl. Phys. 64, R29 (1988), doi: 10.1063/1.341700
  • [2] W.D. Rice, W. Liu, T.A. Baker, N.A. Sinitsyn, V.I. Klimov, S.A. Crooker, Nat. Nano. 11, 137 (2016), doi: 10.1038/nnano.2015.258
  • [3] A.A. Maksimov, G. Bacher, A. McDonald, V.D. Kulakovskii, A. Forchel, C.R. Becker, G. Landwehr, L.W. Molenkamp, Phys. Rev. B 62, R7767 (2000), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.62.R7767
  • [4] S. Mackowski, T. Gurung, H.E. Jackson, L.M. Smith, G. Karczewski, J. Kossut, Appl. Phys. Lett. 87, 072502 (2005), doi: 10.1063/1.2011785
  • [5] S. Kuroda, Y. Terai, K. Takita, T. Takamasu, G. Kido, N. Hasegawa, T. Kuroda, F. Minami, J. Cryst. Growth 214-215, 140 (2000), doi: 10.1016/S0022-0248(00)00051-8
  • [6] J. Seufert, G. Bacher, M. Scheibner, A. Forchel, S. Lee, M. Dobrowolska, J.K. Furdyna, Phys. Rev. Lett. 88, 027402 (2001), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.88.027402
  • [7] R. Beaulac, L. Schneider, P.I. Archer, G. Bacher, D.R. Gamelin, Science 325, 973, (2009), doi: 10.1126/science.1174419
  • [8] M.C. Kuo, J.S. Hsu, J.L. Shen, K.C. Chiu, W.C. Fan, Y.C. Lin, C.H. Chia, W.C. Chou, M. Yasar, R. Mallory, A. Petrou, H. Luo, Appl. Phys. Lett. 89, 263111 (2006), doi: 10.1063/1.2424654
  • [9] I. R. Sellers, R. Oszwałdowski, V.R. Whiteside, M. Eginligil, A. Petrou, I. Zutic, W.C. Chou, W.C. Fan, A.G. Petukhov, S.J. Kim, A.N. Cartwright, B.D. McCombe, Phys. Rev. B 82, 195320, (2010), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.82.195320
  • [10] T. Dietl, J. Spalek, Phys. Rev. B 28, 1548 (1983), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.28.1548
  • [11] H. Bednarski, J. Spalek, J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 24, 235801 (2012), doi: 10.1088/0953-8984/24/23/235801/meta
  • [12] S. Chuang, Physics of Optoelectronic Devices, 1st ed., Wiley, Philadelphia 1995, p. 113
  • [13] G. Bastard, Wave Mechanics Applied to Semiconductor Heterostructures, 4th ed., (Les Editions de Physique, France 1990, p. 63
  • [14] F.B. Pedersen, Yia-Chung Chang, Phys. Rev. B 53, 1507 (1996), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.53.1507
  • [15] R. Oszwałdowski, P. Stano, A.G. Petukhov, I. Zutic, Phys. Rev. B 86, 201408 (2012), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.86.201408
  • [16] I.A. Merkulov, K.V. Kavokin, Phys. Rev. B 52, 1751 (1995), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.52.1751
  • [17] K. Vyborny, J.E. Han, R. Oszwałdowski, I. Zutic, A.G. Petukhov, Phys. Rev. B 85, 155312 (2012), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.85.155312
  • [18] K.V. Kavokin, I.A. Merkulov, Phys. Rev. B 55, 7371 (1997), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.55.R7371
  • [19] J.M. Pientka, R. Oszwałdowski, A.G. Petukhov, J.E. Han, I. Zutic, Phys. Rev. B 92, 155402, (2015), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.92.155402
  • [20] P.A. Wolff, in Semiconductors, Semimetals, edited by J. K. Furdyna, J. Kossut, Academic Press, London 1988), p. 413, doi: 10.1016/S0080-8784(08)62426-6
  • [21] J. Goldstone, Nuovo Cimento 19, 154 (1961), doi: 10.1007/BF02812722
  • [22] J. Goldstone, A. Salam, S. Weinberg, Phys. Rev. 127, 965 (1962), doi: 10.1103/PhysRev.127.965
  • [23] R. Abolfath, P. Hawrylak, I. Zutic, Phys. Rev. Lett. 98, 207203 (2007), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.98.207203
  • [24] Y.X. Liu, D.Z.Y. Ting, T.C. McGill, Phys. Rev. B 54, 5675 (1996), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.54.5675
  • [25] P. Harrison, Quantum Wells, Wires, Dots, Theoretical, Computational Physics of Semiconductor Nanostructures, 3rd ed., Wiley, Hoboken 2010, p. 246, doi: 10.1002/9781118923337
  • [26] A. Wojs, P. Hawrylak, S. Fafard, L. Jacak, Phys. Rev. B 54, 5604 (1996), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.54.5604
  • [27] S. Blundell, Magnetism in Condensed Matter, 1st ed., Oxford University Press, New York 2001 p. 28
  • [28] M. Said, M.A. Kanehisa, phys. stat. sol. (b) 157, 311 (1990), doi: 10.1002/pssb.2221570132
  • [29] B. Barman, R. Oszwałdowski, L. Schweidenback, A.H. Russ, J.M. Pientka, Y. Tsai, W.-C. Chou, W.C. Fan, J.R. Murphy, A.N. Cartwright, I.R. Sellers, A.G. Petukhov, I. Zutic, B.D. McCombe, A. Petrou, Phys. Rev. B 92, 035430 (2015), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.92.035430
  • [30] L. Kłopotowski, L. Cywinski, M. Szymura, V. Voliotis, R. Grousson, P. Wojnar, K. Fronc, T. Kazimierczuk, A. Golnik, G. Karczewski, T. Wojtowicz, Phys. Rev. B 87, 245316 (2013), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.87.245316
  • [31] L. Kłopotowski, L. Cywinski, P. Wojnar, V. Voliotis, K. Fronc, T. Kazimierczuk, A. Golnik, M. Ravaro, R. Grousson, G. Karczewski, T. Wojtowicz, Phys. Rev. B 83, 081306 (2011), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.83.081306
  • [32] I.A. Akimov, T. Godde, K.V. Kavokin, D.R. Yakovlev, I.I. Reshina, I.V. Sedova, S.V. Sorokin, S.V. Ivanov, Y.G. Kusrayev, M. Bayer, Phys. Rev. B 95, 155303 (2017), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.95.155303
  • [33] L. Villegas-Lelovsky, F. Qu, L.O. Massa, V. Lopez-Richard, G.E. Marques, Phys. Rev. B 84, 075319 (2011), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.84.075319
  • [34] A.K. Bhattacharjee, C. Benoit a la Guillaume, Phys. Rev. B 55, 10613 (1997), doi: 10.1103/PhysRevB.55.10613
Document Type
Publication order reference
YADDA identifier
JavaScript is turned off in your web browser. Turn it on to take full advantage of this site, then refresh the page.