Preferences help
enabled [disable] Abstract
Number of results
2012 | 121 | 5-6 | 1089-1091
Article title

Magnetic Field Effects in Frustrated Low-Dimensional Magnets

Title variants
Languages of publication
We investigate the frustrated two-dimensional S = 1/2 next nearest neighbor anisotropic Heisenberg antiferromagnet on a square lattice as described by the J_{1a,b} - J_2 model. We use spin-wave theory and exact diagonalization for finite tiles including a new method for the finite size scaling procedure. We present results obtained from the extension of our numerical method to finite magnetic fields as well as from spin-wave theory. The induced uniform and the staggered moment in the antiferromagnetically ordered phases in the presence of a magnetic field are calculated. They deviate strongly from classical behaviour depending on frustration ratio J_2/J_{1a,b} and the J_{1a,b} exchange anisotropy. The magnetization becomes strongly nonlinear and is suppressed from the classical value. This is due to enhanced quantum fluctuations already at moderate frustration.
Physical description
  • 1. B. Schmidt, M. Siahatgar, P. Thalmeier, Phys. Rev. B 81, 165101 (2010)
  • 2. B. Schmidt, M. Siahatgar, P. Thalmeier, Phys. Rev. B 83, 075123 (2011)
  • 3. E.E. Kaul, H. Rosner, N. Shannon, R.V. Shpanchenko, C. Geibel, J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 272-276, 922 (2004)
  • 4. N.S. Kini, E.E. Kaul, C. Geibel, J. Phys., Condens. Matter 18, 1303 (2006)
  • 5. A.A. Tsirlin, H. Rosner, Phys. Rev. B 79, 214417 (2009)
  • 6. N. Shannon, B. Schmidt, K. Penc, P. Thalmeier, Eur. Phys. J. B 38, 599 (2004)
  • 7. B. Schmidt, P. Thalmeier, N. Shannon, Phys. Rev. B 76, 125113 (2007)
  • 8. B. Schmidt, M. Siahatgar, P. Thalmeier, A.A. Tsirlin, J. Phys., Conf. Ser. 200, 022055 (2010)
  • 9. R.A. Ewings, T.G. Perring, R.I. Bewley, T. Guidi, M.J. Pitcher, D.R. Parker, S.J. Clarke, A.T. Boothroyd, Phys. Rev. B 78, 220501(R) (2008)
  • 10. R.J. McQueeney, S.O. Diallo, V.P. Antropov, G.D. Samolyuk, C. Broholm, N. Ni, S. Nandi, M. Yethiraj, J.L. Zarestky, J.J. Pulikkotil, A. Kreyssig, M.D. Lumsden, B.N. Harmon, P.C. Canfield, A.I. Goldman, Phys. Rev. Lett. 101, 227205 (2008)
  • 11. S.O. Diallo, V.P. Antropov, T.G. Perring, C. Bro- holm, J.J. Pulikkotil, N. Ni, S.L. Bud'ko, P.C. Canfield, A. Kreyssig, A.I. Goldman, R.J. McQueeney, Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 187206 (2009)
  • 12. J. Zhao, D.T. Adroja, D.-X. Yao, R. Bewley, S. Li, X.F. Wang, G. Wu, X.H. Chen, J. Hu, P. Dai, Nat. Phys. 5, 555 (2009)
  • 13. P. Thalmeier, M.E. Zhitomirsky, B. Schmidt, N. Shannon, Phys. Rev. B 77, 104441 (2008)
Document Type
Publication order reference
YADDA identifier
JavaScript is turned off in your web browser. Turn it on to take full advantage of this site, then refresh the page.