Preferences help
enabled [disable] Abstract
Number of results
2008 | 114 | 2 | 331-338
Article title

Automation and Remote Synchrotron Data Collection

Title variants
Languages of publication
X-ray crystallography is the natural choice for macromolecular structure determination by virtue of its accuracy, speed, and potential for further speed gains, while synchrotron radiation is indispensable because of its intensity and tuneability. Good X-ray crystallographic diffraction patterns are essential and frequently this is achievable through using the few large synchrotrons located worldwide. Beamline time on these facilities have long queues, and increasing the efficiency of utilization of these facilities will help in expediting the structure determination process. Automation and remote data collection are therefore essential steps in ensuring that macromolecular structure determination becomes a very high throughput process.
  • Department of Crystallography, Faculty of Chemistry, A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland
  • Center for Biocrystallographic Research, Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poznań, Poland
  • 1. W. Minor, D.R. Tomchick, Z. Otwinowski, Structure 8, R105 (2000)
  • 2. R. Stevens, I. Wilson, Science 293, 519 (2001)
  • 3. A. Betova, F. Cipriani, S. Cusack, S. Delageniere, J. Gabadinho, E.J. Gordon, M. Guijarro, D.R. Hall, S. Larsen, L. Launer, C.B. Lavault, G.A. Leonard, T. Mairs, A. McCarthy, J. McCarthy, J. Meyer, E. Mitchell, S. Monaco, D. Nurizzo, P. Pernot, R. Pieritz, R.G.B. Ravelli, V. Rey, W. Shepard, D. Spruce, D.I. Stuart, O. Svensson, P. Theveneau, X. Thibault, J. Turkenburg, M. Walsh, S.M. McSweeney, Acta Crystallogr. D 62, 1162 (2006)
  • 4.
  • 5.
  • 6. A.G.W. Leslie, H.R. Powell, G. Winter, O. Svensson, D. Spruce, S. McSweeney, D. Love, S. Kinder, E. Duke, C. Nave, Acta Crystallogr. D 58, 1924 (2002)
  • 7. A. Pajon, J. Ionides, J. Diprose, J. Fillon, R. Fogh, A.W. Ashton, H. Berman, W. Boucher, M. Cygler, E. Deleury, R. Esnouf, J. Janin, R. Kim, I. Krimm, K.L. Lawson, E. Oeuillet, A. Poupon, S. Raymond, T. Stevens, H. van Tilbeurgh, J. Westbrook, P. Wood, E. Ulrich, W. Vranken, L. Xueli, E. Laue, D.I. Stuart, K. Henrick, Proteins 58, 278 (2005)
  • 8. F. Cipriani, F. Felisaz, L. Launer, J.-S. Aksoy, H. Caserotto, S. Cusack, M. Dallery, F. di-Chiaro, M. Guijarro, J. Huet, S. Larsen, M. Lentini, J. McCarthy, S. McSweeney, R. Ravelli, M. Renier, C. Taffut, A. Thompson, G.A. Leonard, M.A. Walsh, Acta Crystallogr. D 62, 1251 (2006)
  • 9. G. Ueno, R. Hirose, K. Ida, T. Kumasaka, M. Yamamoto, J. Appl. Crystallogr. 37, 867 (2004)
  • 10. S. Arzt, A. Beteva, F. Cipriani, S. Delageniere, F. Felisaz, G. Forstner, E. Gordon, L. Launer, B. Lavault, G. Leonard, T. Mairs, A. McCarthy, J. McCarthy, S. McSweeney, J. Meyer, E. Mitchell, S. Monaco, D. Nurizzo, R.B.G. Ravelli, V. Rey, W. Shepard, D. Spruce, O. Svensson, P. Theveneau, Prog. Biophys. Mol. Biol. 89, 124 (2005)
  • 11. E. Pohl, U. Ristau, T. Gehrmann, D. Jahn, B. Robrahn, D. Malthan, H. Dobler, C. Hermes, J. Synchrotron Rad. 11, 372 (2004)
  • 12. Y. Gaponov, N. Igarishi, M. Hiraki, K. Sasajima, N. Matsugaki, M. Suzuki, T. Kosuge, S. Wakatsuki, J. Synchrotron Rad. 11, 17 (2004)
  • 13. G. Snell, C. Cork, R. Nordmeyer, E. Cornell, G. Meigs, D. Yegian, J. Jaklevic, J. Jin, R. Stevens, T. Earnest, Structure 12, 537 (2004)
  • 14. A.E. Cohen, P.J. Ellis, M.D. Miller, A.M. Deacon, R.P. Phizackerley, J. Appl. Crystallogr. 35, 720 (2002)
  • 15. A.N. Popov, G.P. Bourenkov, Acta Crystallogr. D 59, 1145 (2003)
  • 16. A.G.W. Leslie, Int CCP4/ESF-EACBM Newsl. Protein Crystallogr. 26, (1992)
  • 17. M. Jaskolski, M. Gilski, Academia 3, 8 (2007)
  • 18. M. Gilski, Synchr. Radiat. Nat. Sci. 6, 95 (2007)
Document Type
Publication order reference
YADDA identifier
JavaScript is turned off in your web browser. Turn it on to take full advantage of this site, then refresh the page.